Food Served at the Hospital

So way back when I was in Russia, a friend asked me if I could do a blog post that focused solely on the food that we were served at the hospital.  When I did my daily blog posts I always discussed what was served that day, but to make it easier for people I was asked to do a separate blog post so here goes.

First the meals may change a bit from year to year or season to season, but for the most part they have tended to be fairly similar for the past few years. And the same food was served each week, basically every Monday was the same stuff, Tuesday had the same stuff, and Wednesday was the notorious tongue day. A few times stuff was mixed up a bit, but usually it was the same. Many people say the food is horrible and bland, but really it is what you should expect from hospital food.  It’s bland, but it is nutritious and good for your body especially in isolation.  Now they don’t typically cater to those with specialty diets, but if you are 100% vegetarian, you can request the vegetarian meal plan and they will feed you that, but most vegetarians are not impressed by it because it mainly consists of boiled veggies. However many people opt to cook their own food in their rooms, either in the microwave or using a hot plate that they have purchased.

But here are some slide shows of the meals each day, I included all the pictures I had in my other blogs.  I didn’t take pictures every single day, some days I missed the meals when I was exploring Moscow, some days I just forgot to take pictures. Beneath the slide shows is a sample menu from when I was there.  For the most part the meals were identical every single week, although there were occasional variations, most often during Breakfast #1 when the porridge would get changed from time to time.  Also occasionally random veggies were added to the plate as well for certain meals. The meal times may change a bit, but you are served 4 meals a day, when I was there, this was the schedule:

Breakfast #1 : 8:00-9:00am

Breakfast #2: 12:00pm

Lunch:  2:00pm

Dinner: 6:00pm

The time your meal is served may depend on what floor you are on and what room you are in.  Also some days they do run out of certain foods and others are substituted, this happened occasionally on tongue day, when regular beef was substituted, which many people preferred.

Breakfast #1 (8:00-9:00am)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Typical weekly menu:

Monday: Cream of Wheat Porridge, Egg Casserole Square, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Tuesday: Oatmeal, Bread, Cheese, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Wednesday: Buckwheat Porridge, Hard-Boiled Egg, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Thursday: Tapioca Porridge, Egg Casserole Square, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Friday: Semolina Porridge, Baby Yogurt, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Saturday: Cream of Wheat Porridge, Hard-Boiled Egg, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

Sunday: Oatmeal, Baby Yogurt, Bread, Butter, Tea Bag, Sugar Packets

 

Breakfast #2 (12:00pm)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Typical Weekly Menu:

Monday: 2 Boiled Apples, Chicken Leg/Wing/or Thigh, Baby Yogurt,  Cup of Tea/Broth

Tuesday: 2 Boiled Apples, Hard-Boiled Egg, Piece of Beef, Cup of Tea/Broth

Wednesday: 2 Boiled Apples, Baby Yogurt, Piece of Beef, Cup of Tea/Broth

Thursday: 2 Boiled Apples, Piece of Beef, Baby Yogurt, Cup of Tea/Broth

Friday: 2 Boiled Apples, Piece of Beef, Hard-Boiled Egg, Cup of Tea/Broth

Saturday: 2 Boiled Apples, Piece of Beef, Baby Yogurt, Cup of Tea/Broth

Sunday: 2 Boiled Apples, Hard-Boiled Egg, Piece of Beef, Cup of Tea/Broth

 

Lunch (2:00pm)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Typical Weekly Menu:

Monday: Chicken Leg/Wing/or Thigh, Boiled Cauliflower, Bread, Blended Veggie Soup

Tuesday: Blended Broccoli Soup, Beef Stew Mixture, Boiled Buckwheat, Bread

Wednesday: Beef Tongue, Mashed Potatoes, Fish Soup, Bread (Occasionally Shredded Beets)

Thursday: Liver Stew Mixture, Boiled Buckwheat, Spicy Veggie Soup, Bread

Friday: Rice, Chicken/Various Meat Biscuit/Loaf, Veggie Soup, Bread

Saturday: Corn or Veggie Soup, Chicken/Various Meat Biscuit/Loaf, Mashed Potatoes, Bread

Sunday: Pasta, Beef Stew Mixture, Fish or Veggie Soup, Bread (Occasionally Beet/Pea Salad)

Dinner (6:00pm)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Typical Weekly Menu:

Monday: Beef Stew, Beef Baby Food, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Tuesday: Whitefish Steak, Mashed Potatoes, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Wednesday: Oatmeal or Various Porridge, Raisin Cream Bar, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Thursday: Whitefish Fillet, Mashed Potatoes, Boiled Peas, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Friday: Boiled Buckwheat, Chicken/Various Meat Biscuit/Loaf, Beef Baby Food, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Saturday: Corn Soup, Raisin Cream Bar, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

Sunday: Poached Whitefish, Mashed Potatoes, Bread, Cookies, Tea Bag

 

So there you have it, a blog post on the food that was served in the hospital when I was there.  It is nothing like hospital food in most other countries where you get to order off a menu and can get whatever you want.  But it serves its purpose and I ate pretty much everything I was served, except for some of the porridge which I often found inedible and then the fish steaks, they were nasty.  I didn’t really eat the apples at the start, but during isolation I was desperate and they really weren’t too bad.  And when it comes to the fish I really have no idea what type of fish it was, it was white in color, so it’s anyones guess.

About Cat

I'm an outdoorsy gal, wife, mom of 2 and MS Warrior. I underwent HSCT in Russia in April/May 2016 to halt my MS and documented my entire journey while I was there in my blog and am now continuing to blog through my recovery.
This entry was posted in HSCT in Russia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Served at the Hospital

  1. Hans Martin Norberg says:

    Hi, I’ve just recently become aware of your blog which has been frequently updated post HSCT in Moscow. The information is highly relevant for me to consider (dwell on). I’ ve been thinking of stem-cell-treatment as something I definitely should apply for. However, after reading the high number of possible side effects described by you, I´m somewhat in doubt (sceptical) to the treatment. Of course I hope for signifikant improvement post HSCT, but your honest blog makes me question myself: apparently, so much can go wrong! (I´m tired, fed up, of a disease which has been a part of my life for about twenty years now (presently EDSS score of 6,5). However, the possibilty of all the side effects makes me sceptical. Should I rather live with this shit, sorry (!) for the expression, or should I take the chance (risk) in order to hope for a better quality of life? It´s really hard to come to a conclusion in this matter! Regards, Hans (from Norway).

    Like

  2. Cat says:

    Thanks for your comment. I have always tried to be honest with my blog because as you may have noticed on the forums you really only hear the good things and never the bad. It’s why I have done posts on things I have read in the veteran’s groups because I feel that people should be able to know this information before undergoing such a major medical procedure. The list of side-effects is not meant to scare anyone off, but it is something people should be aware of, since when people ask about major side effects, they do get majorly downplayed. Most people who have had major side effects are still happy they did HSCT. There are of course those that do regret having HSCT, especially those that haven’t seen a lot of improvements. I was treated with 2 Norwegians while in Russia, one had a score of 6.5, the other had transitioned to 7.0 before treatment but had been waiting to go for a longer period of time and was still able to safely have the procedure done and was treated even though she was above the score they normally take, her husband was there and helped her during the day. At 6 months out, both feel progression has been stopped and they have seen some small improvements. They are both happy they had the procedure done because it stopped them from getting worse.

    There is a lot to consider before doing HSCT, it’s why I always encourage people to do a lot of research first on the topic as well as to research the facilities as opposed to immediately jumping in and doing HSCT. I’ve seen many people decide to do it, get an early date in Mexico, have the procedure done, then question if they should have done it. So many people say “time is brain” do it ASAP, but if people haven’t thought the decision though completely, they may regret jumping into it. Also I do feel people should know that many people are not reaching neutropenia in Mexico, which doctors everywhere else say is required for the treatment to be a success, the doctor’s in Mexico say that isn’t important, but that is downplayed on groups as well, so I do not believe the protocol there is identical to Russia contrary to what groups say. Back to the fact it is hard to find actual real information on groups that isn’t heavily moderated. Most posts that discuss treatment failure and question things are deleted, it’s sad really.

    And it is hard to find blogs or online posts from veterans that are truthful or that keep posting after their procedure is finished. Most fail to discuss anything bad that has happened or make themselves sound like they have tons of improvements when in real life that is not the case. I also have a page on facebook called Cat’s HSCT Journey. If you look that up and send me a message on that page I can send you a link to several other facebook pages of those treated in Russia that have been truthful about their recovery which is a rarity.

    Whatever you decide, I wish you the best of luck. With HSCT I feel you are the only one that can make the decision for yourself and you have to go with your gut, if you feel it is the best thing to do, then go for it. If you feel it would be a horrible decision, then avoid it. Don’t be swayed by miraculous stories on the internet, most of them are not true, especially for those with higher EDSS scores where they are running again. In rare cases that happens, most of the time it isn’t reality. Good luck to you, and if you have any other questions about HSCT, find my facebook page and drop me a message, I’m more than happy to honestly answer any questions you have.

    Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

