Packing List: What I Took To Russia-Food Edition

This is a several part series on things I took with me to Russia, here are links to the other lists:

Packing List: What I Took To Russia-Clothing Edition

Packing List: What I Took to Russia-Toiletries & Misc. Supplies Edition

Packing List: What I Took to Russia-Electronics, Activities & Important Essentials Edition

So I was asked by several people to make lists of things I took with me to Russia and then discuss what I felt I didn’t need, what I should have brought and the reasoning with what all I packed in the first place.  So I’ll be doing this in several posts, so they don’t get too ridiculously long.  This post is all about food, a very interesting topic for Russia to say the least, but here is the list of things I took along with me.

Food Items I Took With Me to Russia

  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • Cinnamon
  • Mustard
  • Instant Coffee Packets
  • Instant Hot Cocoa Packets
  • Peanut Butter
  • Nutella
  • Hard Candy (Jolly Ranchers)
  • Breakfast Cereal Bars
  • Granola Bars
  • Protein/Energy Bars (Clif Bars)
  • Instant Macaroni & Cheese
  • Mini Candy Bars

Food Items I Did Not Bring, But Others Did

  • Any Seasonings/Herbs You Like
  • Ketchup
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Hot Sauce/Other Condiments
  • Tea Bags (they provide black tea bags twice a day)
  • Instant Oatmeal Packets
  • Chewing Gum
  • Jam/Jelly
  • Jello/Gelatin Mix
  • Snacks/Candy You Cannot Live Without
  • Dry Soup Mixes
  • Microwave Popcorn
  • Dry Camping Food
  • Crackers/Saltines
  • Food You Can Microwave

When it comes to food, first off I consumed almost everything I brought with me, literally…Isolation + Steroids made me into a crazy eating machine.  The one thing I wish I would have brought with me that I did not was instant oatmeal packets.  So many people said you don’t need to bring any with because you get porridge every morning, which is true, but dear god the porridge is quite interesting and many people cannot stomach it.  It consists of all different grains and it can be hard to get down if you are not a huge porridge eater to begin with.  So I do wish I would have brought along some packets to make in the morning.  I also do wish I would have brought more breakfast cereal bars with me because the porridge really wasn’t edible for me so I normally didn’t eat it. I’m not a huge junk food eater in general so I didn’t feel the need to bring a lot with me, I was happy with what I did bring and I did buy some local candy at the grocery store, and really hands down the chocolate in Russia far surpasses anything in the USA.  Many people do like to bring a lot of dried food mixes from home to make with them on days when they can’t stomach the hospital food.  Really depends on how picky of an eater you are I guess.

Now when it comes to food you can buy a huge selection of stuff at the grocery store just a block away from the hospital.  Condiments like mustard, ketchup, seasonings, candy, canned food, crackers, chips, fruit, bread, milk, nuts, dried fruit, etc. Before I went so many people made it sounds like you could not buy a lot of that stuff in Russia and you had to bring it yourself, but much of it is available there and for the same price if not a lot cheaper than it costs in the USA.  A friend of mine who is actually traveling to Russia later this year for treatment asked me to take some pictures at the grocery store near the hospital so he could see what all was available there, so I went crazy and took pictures of most of the stuff in the store, the only things I did not take pictures of was the candy displays by the checkstands. So I am going to post the link here to that album of pictures I have posted on my facebook page for my HSCT journey. Now many of the pictures are blurry because I quickly snapped them with my cell phone while on a quick shopping trip, but here is a link to those.

Grocery Store Near Hospital: Food Pictures

So all in all, my food list wasn’t super exciting, but hopefully the pictures of what is available locally will help some people out and to see that many common foods are also available in Russia.

 

 

About Cat

I'm an outdoorsy gal, wife, mom of 2 and MS Warrior. I underwent HSCT in Russia in April/May 2016 to halt my MS and documented my entire journey while I was there in my blog and am now continuing to blog through my recovery.
This entry was posted in HSCT in Russia, Pre-HSCT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Packing List: What I Took To Russia-Food Edition

  1. Pingback: Packing List: What I Took to Russia-Toiletries & Misc. Supplies Edition | CAT'S HSCT JOURNEY

  2. Pingback: Packing List: What I Took to Russia-Electronics, Activities & Important Essentials Edition | CAT'S HSCT JOURNEY

  3. Pingback: Packing List: What I Took To Russia-Clothing Edition | CAT'S HSCT JOURNEY

Leave a Reply

