Isolation Rooms

So recently since I’ve been here in Russia I’ve seen people asking on the Russia HSCT Facebook group about isolation here, and since I’m on Day 2 of it and have plenty of time, figured I’d write a blog about the Isolation Rooms.  Like I said in past posts that described rooms, no two are exactly the same.  Some are a bit bigger, some a bit smaller, rearranged a bit differently, but same concept none-the-less.  I’ve been in several of the other rooms chatting with other patients and they all are pretty similar. I came here 100% alone with no carer so I’ve always gotten the slightly smaller rooms, make sense since I don’t need the extra space for someone to be hanging out in my room with me, I don’t mind.

I will start out by saying that at the moment all Isolation Rooms are in the hallway on the 4th Floor, it’s been remodeled.  They are currently remodeling the old rooms on the 3rd floor which I believe they plan to use when they increase patient capacity later on.  Depending on the number of patients in treatment at any given time, when you arrive you may be given a room in this hallway right away and it will continue to be your room the whole time, just get a thorough cleaning before isolation, or you might start outside the hallway in an end room or even on the second floor then get moved in.  I’ve had 2 other rooms, so I got my fill of rooms here, but a newer patient who arrived earlier this week got moved in right across the hall from me, so he can just settle in to his room for the whole jaunt here.

How to describe the rooms.  To me they are like a typical college dorm room, well maybe not typical anymore, I haven’t been at college for well over 10 years now, but when I was in college these were typical dorm rooms for a single student.  A bed, sitting area of some sort, some storage, mini-fridge, microwave, and a bathroom.  I also have worked numerous jobs in the natural resource fields over the years living in bunkhouses and the room conditions were similar there, minus in that situation sharing kitchen/bathroom spaces.  So the rooms were great for me, not bad at all.

I’m going to post a ton of pics of my room from all angles, descriptions will be on the pictures, if you have any questions at all feel free to comment or drop me a message and I’ll be happy to describe whatever it is you want to know.  I’m attempting this in slideshow form, so hopefully it works.

Here are pictures from Part 1 of the tour, the basic room, minus the bathroom.  I’m in Room #426, so at the very end of the hallway.  Lucky me I get hit first for everything including meals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now onto Part 2 of the tour, the bathroom.  I find the bathroom plenty large and the green color to be very relaxing.  Now I do not have gripper rugs in my current bathroom, I did in others, but I don’t need them, but you can ask for them if you do.  They also have shower chairs and shower wall handles if needed as well I believe, you just need to ask.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now they are very accommodating here.  Two patients I am here with currently have had carers staying with them throughout and to make their stay more comfortable, they did bring in larger comfy chairs for them to use in the rooms before the Isolation Period started.  They also will supply fans in the rooms if you get too hot, you just need to ask. I’m sure if you wanted one of the little bistro tables for your room, they probably would bring one up for you as well from the second floor, but I have no issues eating on the bed I’m not classy.  Pretty much if you need something, they will get it for you.  One person here was having issues with their outlet adapter working and they had spares on hand.

I have also found with my isolation period that they aren’t super crazy about locking your stuff away from you.  I do have all my non-isolation stuff in my closet, but it isn’t locked and the key is in it, I guess they trust me enough to not be getting into it.  You are also allowed to use your own clean undies and bras throughout isolation, and if you have clean clothes you can wear those as well, although some of the nurses don’t agree with that apparently.  But the judo outfits work for me, although I am a smaller person and am using the smallest tops they have and they don’t fit well, so I just sleep in a bra at night.  They do look over your food and tell you what you can keep and what you can’t.  Most stuff is fair game, even condiments for food as long as you put it on prior to microwaving it for the 20 seconds.

As for what you can do in isolation, as long as you aren’t a hazard to yourself it seems to be fair game.  In the past people have brought knitting and crocheting.  I myself brought a cross-stitching project I’m working on.  Adult coloring books are popular here, I brought colored pencils that just roll out so I don’t need to sharpen them, makes less of a mess I thought.  Reading, playing on the internet, watching movies, listening to music, chatting with family back home and just relaxing.  It sounds odd, but it is really relaxing to just kick back and be alone with your own thoughts.  Especially if you have kids and a family, you never have time for yourself, and it gives you a lot of time to reflect on life in general.  It’s a zen feeling.  Something you don’t really fully understand until you are here and experiencing it.

Hope this post helps those wondering a bit more about the Isolation Rooms.  I do have pics of my previous rooms in other blog posts, perhaps later on I will do another post and recap on those, but really the Isolation Rooms are the important ones where we spend most of our time.

 

 

About Cat

I'm an outdoorsy gal, wife, mom of 2 and MS Warrior. I underwent HSCT in Russia in April/May 2016 to halt my MS and documented my entire journey while I was there in my blog and am now continuing to blog through my recovery.
This entry was posted in HSCT in Russia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

