Rooms Here at Pirogov

In past posts I’ve touched briefly on what rooms were like here in the hospital.  Most people when they arrive get put in one room and stay there for about a week or so and then before their chemo begins move up into one of the rooms in the isolation floor.  I’ve been an exception to that rule and this will actually be room #3 for me since I’ve been here.  Now since I’ve started researching this hospital the room situations here have changed a fair bit.  Everyone used to start on the second floor of the hospital and then get moved up to the third floor for isolation.  Currently they are doing renovations on this section of the hospital, so people either start out on the second floor or on the end of the fourth floor, and then will get moved into the isolation section on the fourth floor.  I believe once the remodeling is finished on the third floor that one will also be reopened up for patients to use.

Rooms here aren’t super fancy, and the ones on the second floor that have yet to be remodeled are more dated, but they serve the purpose and that is all that matters.  So here I will do a rundown of the 3 rooms I have stayed in while I have been here with pictures to let you know what you may expect when you arrive here.

My first room was on the second floor, right on the end.  I believe it actually was just an backup room they use when all the rest were full now.  At the time I arrived there were still several people waiting to leave for home and patients in all stages of the procedure, so rooms were backed up.  I was only in this room for a couple of days before I got moved up to a section on the fourth floor with much nicer remodeled rooms.  But the room on the second floor was comfortable, provided me a place to sleep, and served it’s purpose, but it did not have any of the bells and whistles that come with the rooms up on the fourth floor.  Here are some pictures from that, click on pictures for descriptions.

The bathroom toilet was rather dated and the shower was a bit trickier to use than the ones up on the fourth floor, but still were tolerable and got the job done.  There is more foot traffic on the second floor, so sleeping can be a bit trickier on this floor, earplugs, or headphones may be needed for some people.  But the room did have 2 beds, a small table with 2 chairs for eating, a TV, a fridge, a microwave, storage spots for my bags, and enough room to move around and relax.  It however did not come with any spare dishes, dish soap, dish rag, or hand soap, so I didn’t have much options for wanting to make any of my own food or doing dishes.  The nurses who brought the food, just took out the dirty dishes each day and delivered the new food.

Then I moved up to the fourth floor, outside the isolation bay.  Talk about an improvement in rooms, I moved up to luxury!  While the room was almost the same size it did have more of the perks.  Click on pictures for descriptions.

This room has obviously been remodeled recently.  It had a newer toilet and shower and this shower did even have a removable rug in it, I’m sure if you need one you can request it.  The room had several storage cabinets for all your stuff, a red chair for if you have a carer or guest that stops by, a TV, a little end table, and 2 small chairs that you can move around the room.  It however did not have a little table to eat at, but the little table thing by the bed does move around so you could use that to eat off of, although I just sat on my bed or couch and ate my food that way, although I’m not very civilized when it comes to eating…   But this room does include extra dishes, cups, silverware, dish soap, dish rag, and hand soap.  So you can actually cook food if you want and they do expect you to do your own dishes in the bathroom sink, although Dr. F did say the staff will do the dishes if you prefer not to.

Now onto room #3 for me and this will be my final room.  I was moved into here right before my chemo started and then before I go into isolation the room will be well cleaned and they will take away most of my stuff.  Although this room does have a locking cabinet and I believe former patients said most of your stuff can just get shoved in there and locked up until you get out of isolation.  This room is pretty similar in size from my last room, so not too bad, it also has a kick-ass lime green bathroom that I’m loving!  Here’s some pics from this room in the isolation wing, click the pictures for descriptions.

This room for me had about all the same perks as the last one on the fourth floor.  It also comes with extra dishes, cups, silverware, knives, dish soap, dish rag, and a bar of hand soap.  They do expect you to do your own dishes in the bathroom sink here, but I’m sure if you really don’t want to, they will do them for you.  Again there is no little table to eat at, but the little table by the bed does swing around so you can eat off of it in bed if you choose.  I prefer to just sit on the bed and hold my food while I eat it, but again I’m not very civilized.

Now all three rooms do have these snazzy warming towel racks.  So if you do opt to do any of your own laundry in the sink while you are here, it will dry it super fast for you.  Also lets you have a nice warm towel when you get out of the shower.  They will do your laundry here for you if you request, the nurse said it takes about 2 days for them to get it back to you, but many people just tend to do their own laundry in the sink in the room, at least for smaller items like undies, bras, etc.

In past posts on the facebook group I’ve seen many people complain about the lack of power outlets in rooms.  That really isn’t a huge issue on the fourth floor.  In both rooms I’ve had 2 plug-ins right above the bed and usually another 2 on the other side of the room, and then at least 1 more in the bathroom.  I’ve never needed to use more that one outlet at a time, but they are there if you need them.  I also opted to get a plug that has a USB charger built-in, so makes it easy to charge my phone and my laptop at the same time on the same outlet.

The one thing I do recommend bringing with you at least for your first week here is a table knife of some sort.  They just do not give you knives here of any sort.  If you want to spread anything on your bread or cut the apples, you have to use a spoon or a fork. Once I got into my isolation room, there were a couple of knives here that I’m guessing former patients have left and it’s amazing. And so many people recommend bringing ice trays to make ice, every room I’ve been in has had ice trays in the freezer, so I’m sure if you really want to make ice, someone in a room will let you borrow one of theirs or I’m sure a nurse can track one down for you.

All in all though the rooms here aren’t bad.  You have to remember that you are in a hospital so it’s not like a motel.  But I find the rooms to be very comfy and if you ever need anything at all the nurses here are happy to help.

And another note, most of the isolation rooms all look pretty similar, but the rooms you will be in prior to that are all different in shape and organization.  Some have 1 bed and some have 2.  Others have more furniture.  I think those with carers tend to get the larger rooms given they need a bit more space.  So it’s an adventure seeing what room you’ll end up with here!

About Cat

I'm an outdoorsy gal, wife, mom of 2 and MS Warrior. I underwent HSCT in Russia in April/May 2016 to halt my MS and documented my entire journey while I was there in my blog and am now continuing to blog through my recovery.
This entry was posted in HSCT in Russia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

